»Lilburn Trust Citation Awards 2021


Press release – Liburn Trust

The Lilburn Trust announces five Citation Awards in recognition of the recipients’ outstanding service to New Zealand music. This year’s recipients are saxophonist Deborah Rawson, music copyist and composer Alistair Gilkison, radio producer David…

The Lilburn Trust announces five Citation Awards in recognition of the recipients’ outstanding service to New Zealand music.

This year’s winners are saxophonist Deborah Rawson, music copyist and composer Alistair Gilkison, radio producer David McCaw, music critic and arts administrator Elizabeth Kerr, and record producer Terence O’Neill-Joyce.

The Lilburn Trust Citation is an occasional award given at the discretion of the Trust’s Music Advisory Board. The price includes an official quote, certificate and cash amount. This year the cash amount is $ 10,000 per beneficiary.

“Given the recent hiatus in the awarding of citations and industry challenges over the past two years, we are very pleased to be able to make this move,” said committee chair Chris Szekely.

“We are very pleased to congratulate the recipients and recognize their long-standing contributions. “

Twenty-one quotes have been given by the Trust since its first presentation in 1990. More than just a quote for New Zealand composers, the quote recognizes the work of individuals to make New Zealand music heard. This includes, but is not limited to, promoting by ordering, organizing events and performances, and registering.

Written citations and certificates will be presented at a reception at the Wellington National Library in February 2022, which will follow the Lilburn talk this time given by Ross Harris. The date of the conference and reception will align with pandemic alert levels and has yet to be confirmed.


Deborah Rawson

During a long career as a soloist, recording artist, chamber musician and teacher, Deborah Rawson has always been a strong supporter of New Zealand music. She has performed and commissioned a large number of New Zealand compositions for clarinet and saxophone and was a founding member and leader of several ensembles, including the Zelanian Ensemble and Saxcess. These groups have demonstrated a sustained commitment to New Zealand composition, which has resulted in a significant body of new compositions for wind instruments by New Zealand composers. As a soloist, Deborah has been the performer of choice for many works that have been composed for her. Deborah’s sustained commitment to New Zealand music has also been evident in her teaching and educational activities which have always featured New Zealand works.

Alistair Gilkison
Since he got a B.Mus. (Hons) from Victoria University in 1984, Alistair Gilkison prepares scores by New Zealand composers for publication. In the early years, his calligraphy was remarkable for its clarity and elegance. More recently, he has turned to computer composition – always with the same elegance and a layout that takes into account the needs of the performers. Alistair’s musical knowledge and judgment are such that his role has extended beyond that of simple composition. New Zealand composers have benefited greatly from Alistair’s care and knowledge. He is one of the unsung heroes of composition in Aotearoa. Most of the scores prepared by Alistair were published by Wai-te-ata Music Press, but some appeared under other brands. Michael Norris, the current editor of Wai-te-ata Music Press, describes Alistair’s work as exemplary. Alistair has also made valuable contributions to the bibliography of New Zealand musical scores.

David mccaw

During a career in broadcasting that began in the early 1980s, David mccaw has produced thousands of hours of studio and live recordings for RNZ Concert featuring New Zealand’s premier composers and performers. His dedication to showing New Zealand artists in the best possible light has helped shape many musical careers and has entertained and educated radio audiences for many years. David’s recordings, especially of New Zealand compositions, have won several awards and form an important part of New Zealand’s music dissemination archive. His work can be heard daily on RNZ Concert.

Elizabeth kerr

Elizabeth kerr is a New Zealand based music critic and freelance commentator and has worked in music and the arts for many years as a broadcaster, writer, academic speaker and artistic leader. In all roles she has been a champion of music for New Zealand composers. After 13 years as a lecturer at the School of Music at Victoria University, she became involved in the management and governance of the arts. She has held management positions at RNZ Concert, as Managing Director of Creative NZ (2000-2006) and Director of the New Zealand String Quartet (2007-2012). She has also held governance positions as a member of the board of directors of NZ Festival / Tawhiri Limited (of which she is the current chair), NZSQ, NZSO, APO and Orchestra Wellington. Initially involved in the creation of SOUNZ, she was President 2009-2019.

Elizabeth has always championed gender equality in musical performance and composition, and has championed good causes such as Save RNZ Concert. She currently writes classical column and CD reviews for the NZ Listener and hosts her own music website in New Zealand, Five lines.

Terence O’Neill Joyce
As the founder of the independent label Ode, Terence O’Neill Joyce has produced, recorded and promoted a wide range of New Zealand and Pacific music. Under Terence’s ownership, from 1968 to 1996 and 2001 to 2007, the label released around 600 recordings and stood out for its support of Polynesian musicians, Maori artists, popular music and jazz. Ode has also released fine art music, including albums by singers Mina Foley and Donald McIntyre, and electroacoustic works by New Zealand composers. A special release was Margaret Nielsen’s 1995 LP of Douglas Lilburn’s piano music. A strong advocate of independent labels, from 1992 to 2005, Terence was president of RIANZ (Recording Industry Association of New Zealand). In 2019, he created Recorded Music Fiji to improve the representation of Fijian producers in the industry. Terence has also recently been involved in the archiving of the Ode master tapes to the New Zealand Music Archives (which is part of the Alexander Turnbull Library) and their digital re-release.


The Lilburn Trust: The late composer Douglas Lilburn helped establish the Archive of New Zealand Music, part of the collections of the Alexander Turnbull Library, in 1974. He donated his own collection of sheet music, articles and recordings , and was honorary curator. Lilburn also established the Lilburn Trust in 1984. It is administered by the Turnbull Endowment Trust.

The Lilburn Trust supports many New Zealand music projects, including the annual Lilburn Conference and the Lilburn Fellowship. The Citation Award has been presented since 1990. Previous recipients have included composer and artistic administrator Ashley Heenan, composer and Maori music advocate Wiremu Kerekere, researcher and author John Mansfield Thomson, conductors Peter Godfrey, Karen Grylls , Kenneth Young and Hamish McKeich, Taongo puoro specialist Richard Nunns, pianists Michael Houstoun and Margaret Nielsen, and record producers Anthony Vercoe and Wayne Laird.

Douglas Lilburn »Quotes

Note to editors:

The Alexander Turnbull Library is part of the National Library of New Zealand. New Zealand’s national documentary heritage collections, including published and unpublished material, are held at the Alexander Turnbull Library.

Images of recipients attached.

Content from
Original url


Kevin A. Perras